ARC Review || Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

IMG_8851

~ Genre : Young-Adult Contemporary Romance ~

~ Publication Date : 1st September 2015 ~

.

|| BLURB ||

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

.

|| REVIEW ||

{I received an ARC of the book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.}

It took me quite a while to write this review because I just couldn’t think, let alone write something to convey my reaction towards this particular book. Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon simply robbed me off the ability to form any coherent thought. *_*
I’ve read a bunch of books where the protagonists suffer from different type of diseases. I’ve liked some, disliked some, loved some, and absolutely abhorred some! This book totally comes into the ‘Loved’ list! Right from the beginning, it sucked me in! 🙂
Now the proof of how incredibly intriguing this book is that I actually managed to read it in between of a Harry Potter book!
I’ve been dying to read Everything Everything ever since I came across it on NetGalley. I literally screamed with joy when I saw I’d been approved for it’s ARC. I started reading immediately and not once did it get even slightly uninteresting, so as to make me take a break and read HP again before continuing, and that, my friend, is a very big thing! 😉

Coming to the characters of this book, we firstly have Madeline who’s suffering from a very rare disease, SCID (Several Combined Immunodeficiency). As said in the synopsis, she’s allergic to the world. So basically, she’s very sick. She has a very organized, very routined kind of life which she has accepted and is content with. That is until Olly steps into her life and everything changes. ❤ ❤
I really liked Maddy as a character. She was a normal teenage girl with normal feelings, wants and emotions. That is what I liked the best about her. Just because she was sick didn’t mean that she was somehow different or deeper than other average teenagers. She had mood swings, she was incredibly selfish at times, and made some wrong decision too. Being sick didn’t make her look at life in an excessively philosophical way. And that’s what made her even more likable and relatable.

Then there was Olly. Oh Olly, my sweetheart! I absolutely adored him! He is one awesome, funny, energetic, sweet, cheeky and deliciously hot guy with pacific blue eyes and dimples and muscles! *hyperventilates* ❤ He belongs to a kind of dysfunctional family, and just like in Maddy’s case, here too, his background wasn’t used an an excuse to make him an unnecessarily intense or mopey character. He was, though, a little bit philosophical at times, thankfully it didn’t seem pretentious. He simply made me smile with all his cute antics. He’s also my new book boyfriend! ❤

Everything Everything made me feel very intensely! It made me deliriously happy at the good moments and also made me bawl my eyes out at the sadder parts. I felt every single emotion the characters felt. From happiness and hope to despair and disappointment. It was like I was a part of their lives, their world…This book made it impossible not to feel.

But surprisingly, at least for me, the book was more on the lighter side than I had expected and I’m so glad it was that way. The writing too was simple, straightforward, intelligent and witty! The dialogues especially were totally hilarious!! And those extra illustrations like, lists, prescriptions, charts, IMs, emails, etc. were a visual treat! They were very smartly placed and made the book ever more enjoyable! 😀

The romance between Olly and Maddy was portrayed beautifully too! It was genuine, honest and once again, totally straight forward! There was no beating around the bush. What they felt, they showed. They were just so perfect together. I simply couldn’t get enough of them, their scenes, their conversations. And oh, the little bites of sexual tension here and there just made it all the more good. ❤

  • Then came the plot twists. And my god, what a twist it was! I honestly hadn’t seen it coming! It shocked me to the core! I really don’t know why, but I wasn’t expecting any twist in the story, so I guess that’s why it shocked me more. But it did indeed change the entire course of the story. *o*

A good twist or a bad one, I won’t spoil for the readers. 😉

I enjoyed reading this book immensely! It had me hooked from the first page to the last. With wonderful, complex characters and a fairly unique story line, Everything Everything is a complete package stuffed with emotions and should not be missed! The author, Nicola Yoon has done a splendid job with her very first novel and I hope she writes more such amazing stories in future because I, for sure am going to read every single one of them. 😀

My rating : ★★★★.75

(I’m deducting .25 stars because of the lack of clarification on why Olly’s family moved away towards the end of the book.)

2 thoughts on “ARC Review || Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. Wonderful review Nikita!
    ‘Just because she was sick didn’t mean that she was somehow different or deeper than other average teenagers.Being sick didn’t make her look at life in an excessive philosophical way. And that’s what made her even more likable and relatable.’ This part has convinced me to pick up this book 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww…thanks, hon. ❤
      Not letting her illness make a big difference on her as a human beings was literally one of the best part of this book. I'm tired of reading stories where sick teenagers are portrayed to be unusually philosophical and deep. This book was a breath of fresh air with it's realistic approach towards this issue.
      Do read this one and let me know of your views! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

