Review || All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

 
 
 .
||BLURB ||
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

.

|| REVIEW ||

 “The great thing about this life of ours is that you can be someone different to everybody.”

Without an ounce of hesitation I can claim that All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven is one of the best books I’ve ever read!
I am a huge fan of the Young-Adult contemporary genre and when I read the blurb of this book on Goodreads, I knew I couldn’t miss this one. But in all honesty, I was somewhat apprehensive before starting with the book because I’m a sucker for Happily Ever Afters. I cannot always handle sad endings and All the Bright Places very obviously was not one to fulfill that criteria.
But I am so, so glad I decided to go ahead and read this piece of brilliance. Yes, this book made me cry my eyeballs out. I cried with the last 50 pages and sobbed for another solid hour after getting over with the book. It simply turned me into a blubbering mess. And I couldn’t sleep at night. Thoughts of Finch and Violet and what happened and what could have happened and more coulds and couldn’ts…kept me up all night.

But no, I don’t regret a second of the time I spent reading this book. The story was such an emotional roller-coaster, it made me feel happy, sad, angry, brittle, giddy, miserable and so many other emotions.

All the Bright Places is written through Finch and Violet’s alternative perspectives. It’s honest and quirky and hilarious and enlightening and heartwarming but so very heartbreaking at the same time. It will affect you so deeply, and trust me, I’m not exaggerating when I say it’ll shakes you from within.The story is so enchanting, it suck you right in and makes you oblivious to everything else apart from Finch and Ultraviolet’s little world that you just don’t want to come out of. The book is an eyeopener and makes you think and feel and believe.

Finch. Just thinking of him make me want to curl up beneath my comforter and weep till I’m out of tears. What an unforgettable character he is. What i loved the most about him was how human he was. Nowhere near perfect with a long list of faults. But he was beautiful, smart, intelligent, funny, spontaneous, deep and real, and One can’t help but fall head over heels for him.
Violet too, another superb character who I could very much relate to because once again she was so real. She was weak and strong. Conflicted, determined, stubborn, smart, sassy, innocent and imperfect. They way she rediscovered herself was portrayed beautifully.

The characters in this book were very well developed and detailed. They were so real and relatable and you feel connected to them, as if they are a part of your life as well.

The Author, Jennifer Niven and done an awe-inspiring job with this book, handling some pretty serious issues like mental health and suicide with so much sensitivity and compassion. Her style of writing is intelligent, raw and energetic. I loved it.

I loved this book to bits. The poignant theme, the engaging plot, the spectacular story and wonderful characters….every single thing was perfection.

Also, this book has some absolutely striking quotes that take your breath away.

“It’s my experience that people are a lot more sympathetic if they can see you hurting, and for the millionth time in my life I wish for measles or smallpox or some other easily understood disease just to make it easier on me and also on them.”

To conclude I’ll just say that gems like All The Bright Places are very rare. You don’t come across books as marvellous as this one everyday. So, do not miss this one!

“You are all the colours at once, at full brightness.”

My Rating – ★★★★★

P.S. Do remember to keep a pack of tissues handy while reading this book. One will surely need it.

Advertisements

Review || Bully (Fall Away #1) by Penelope Douglas

Review || Bully (Fall Away #1) by Penelope Douglas 

.

|| BLURB ||

My name is Tate. He doesn’t call me that, though. He would never refer to me so informally, if he referred to me at all. No, he’ll barely even speak to me.

But he still won’t leave me alone.

We were best friends once. Then he turned on me and made it his mission to ruin my life. I’ve been humiliated, shut out, and gossiped about all through high school. His pranks and rumors got more sadistic as time wore on, and I made myself sick trying to stay out of his way. I even went to France for a year, just to avoid him.

But I’m done hiding from him now, and there’s no way in hell I’ll allow him to ruin my senior year. He might not have changed, but I have. It’s time to fight back. I’m not going to let him bully me anymore.

.

|| REVIEW ||

The First book of the Fall Away Series by Penelope Douglas, Bully was a very enjoyable book. It had me hooked right from the first page to the last.

I am an absolute sucker for enemies-to-lovers books, but this one was a little different from my choice as it was a best friends-to-enemies-to-lovers. It was actually a refreshing change for one and after reading the blurb I was very curious to know how two best friends can turn into such enemies where one has sworn to making the other’s life totally miserable.

I enjoyed Jared and Tate’s story very much. It was very intense and nerve wrecking.
I absolutely abhorred Jared for all he made her go through but was more upset with Tate in the beginning for tolerating all of it and not retaliating!
France was a very good change for her as after coming back and getting a little pep talk from her best friend, K.C., there was a new confidence in her and she countered each one of his attacks.
Her retaliation did surprise Jared but it only made him up his game more. It was interesting to see their back and forth attacks but there is always a limit to everything and so was with Tate and her tolerance. But it was her grandmother’s advice that finally pushed her relationship with Jared in a positive direction.

Jared attempts to revive his friendship with Tate but it’s not that easy until he opens his heart up to her. There were reasons behind his sudden change in attitude towards her. Reasons, he didn’t want to share with her but to gain his best friend’s trust back, he has to.
Their delicately rebuilding relationships go through more hardship, they together, stump all the problems.

The only thing that is stopping me from giving this book a full 5 star rating is the reason behind Jared hatred. I did understand the hell he went through but I still feel that him releasing his anguish on Tate by tormenting her to Tate was a bit too extreme and well, irrational.
That was my only complain, but I’ve heard in the next book i.e. Until You which is written from Jared’s point of view, we get a better insight of his story and we get to realise the reasons behind all his actions, so I’m really looking forward to that.

This book was wonderful, funny, intense, sexy and a really engaging read. Don’t miss it if you are a fan of NA Contemporaries!
My Rating : ★★★★1/2